Thank You, Mom

Dear Mom,

Thank you for letting me fall, knowing that I’d pick myself up and go right back to playing with the other kids.

Thank you for cooking macaroni & cheese five nights a week and for stopping at Baskin Robbins every day after school, even when I didn’t ask.

Thank you for the clarinet lessons and for teaching me how to sew. Thank you for driving me to ballet and basketball and for sponsoring all those band bake sales.

Thank you for my Catholic education. Thank you for working hard for over 25 years so that my tuition at one of the world’s most prestigious institutions could be free. Thank you for your many sacrifices, big and small, and thank you for loving me even when I am not grateful for them.

Thank you for being a role model and showing me the strength and perseverance a woman can show in the face of adversity. You worked hard to raise me as well as achieve your dreams of higher education and a successful career. So, thank you for treating me not as a burden, but as a gift.

But most of all, Mom, thank you for giving me life. In a time when abortion activists are trying to diminish a woman’s most sacred gift, the ability to bring life into this world, thank you for recognizing the beauty of childbirth. Despite the risks my extremely premature birth presented, you chose to love me anyway by putting your desires, whims, and comfort on hold to give me life. 

You never gave up on me, even though I was only 4 pounds at birth. Through  the long nights, the worry, and the prayers, you were always there. Saint Thomas Aquinas once said, “Love takes up where knowledge leaves off.” There was a lot of uncertainty in those early days, but I truly believe that your and dad’s love is the reason I am where I am today.  I know it wasn’t easy for you, but I am so happy to be alive today to thank you for those sacrifices.

Not only did you choose to give me life, but you chose  to give me the best life possible and instilled in me a deep respect for the sanctity of life. Growing up, you openly discussed your academic work on life and justice at Georgetown with me. Now, following in your footsteps, I appreciate your thesis on Physician-Assisted Suicide more and more. In bringing me to Church, you helped me realize the source of my worth. You taught me how to be a champion for life and you have supported me in all of my endeavors.

To the woman who has loved me endlessly since the moment I was conceived:

Thank you, Mom, for everything.

Kathryn Baker

COL ’20

Georgetown Right to Life is grateful  to brave and hardworking mothers everywhere, whether they be alive or deceased, for choosing life. Happy Mother’s Day to all.

 

Leave a Reply

